

PRESS RELEASE - 3rd November 2007

POSITIVE OUTCOME FOR THIRD FIA ETCC

The third edition of the FIA European Touring Car Cup was placed in the archives with very positive outcome.

38 drivers from 12 countries took part in the event at the wheel of cars built from 12 different car Manufacturers and delivered two exciting races plenty of action and overtaking before 10,000 spectators.

In spite of the fact that the cars coming from the various national championships differed in a number of technical details, the FIA Touring Car Bureau managed to find a good balance in performance.

The evidence is that in all the three classes cars from different Manufacturers proved to be equally competitive.

With a field of 26, the Super 2000 class established a new record for the ETCC. Seven Manufacturers – Honda, SEAT, Chevrolet, BMW, Toyota, Alfa Romeo and Mercedes – were represented in the top-14 of the qualifying session, while both races and the final results saw three different cars on top: alternatively SEAT, Honda, Chevrolet and BMW.

In the Super Production class Honda, Opel and BMW claimed the top three positions in Race 1, while Ford, Citroën and Volkswagen filled the podium in the new Super 1600 class.

The date for the fourth edition of the FIA European Touring Car Cup has been already fixed on 12th October 2008; the venue will be communicated later.

NORDIC DRIVERS ON TOP IN SUPER 2000

Scandinavian drivers dominated the Super 2000 class and this was not a surprise as the Danish and the Swedish Touring Car championships are both highly competitive. Michel Nykjær from Denmark won the FIA Super 2000 Cup, while his fellow contrymen Kristian Poulsen (third in the points), Jens Reno Møller (second in qualifying) and Henrik Lundgaard all fought for the top positions.

Just like the Swedemen Tomas Engström, who set pole position, won the first race and finished as runner up in the Cup, and Pontus Mörth, whose title hopes were jeopardized by a time penalty at the end of the first race.

The only drivers who threatened this Nordic supremacy were Emmet O'Brien, Maurizio Ceresoli and Alexander Lvov.

The Irishman – who was vice champion in 2006 – was fighting for the podium and eventually classified fourth, only one point short of Poulsen. Ceresoli was ousted from pole position by Engström and Møller in the late stages of the qualifying session; during the first race he battled for second position with Nykjær and Mörth until he made a mistake and went off. As for Lvov – the 2006 Super Production European champion – proved that switching to the upper class was the right move and remained consistently among the top five.

RUSSIAN DOMINATION IN SUPER PRODUCTION

The Russian drivers continued to dominate the Super Production class. After Alexander Lvov and Timur Sadredinov finished first and second in the 2006 FIA Euro Cup at Estoril, Super Production produced and all-Russian podium in Adria.

Aleksey Basov won both races at the wheel of the Rostokino-Lada Honda Civic Type-R, while his team-mate Nikolay Agapov and Aimol Racing's Arkadiy Pavlovskiy in an Opel Astra Coupé claimed one second apiece and classified second and third in the points respectively.

Two other potential contenders, both at the wheel of BMW 320i cars, Italian Fabio Fabiani who had set pole position and Anton Markin who finished third in Race 1, eliminated each other in a collision.

This success was the icing on the cake for Basov, a 30-years old from Kaliningrad, as earlier during the current season he had been crowned Russian champion in the Super Production class.

GERMAN VICTORY IN THE SUPER 1600 CLASS

The first appearance of the Super 1600 class in the FIA European Touring Car Cup resulted in a German victory with the 30-years old Jens-Guido Weimann claiming pole position and winning both races. His Ford Fiesta's impressive pace was only ten seconds slower compared to the best Super 2000 cars.

His fellow countryman Jens Löhnig was runner-up in the first race at the wheel of his Citroën C2, but in the second race Weimann had to play hard defence to resist the pressure from Russian driver Maksim Tsimbalov in his Volkswagen Polo. Tsimbalov crossed the line only five tenths after the winner, with Löhnig third one further second adrift.

The other two competitors in the class, Mikhail Barabin and Andrey Nikolaev, both from Russia and at the wheel of Volkswagen Polo cars, finished the two races in 4th and 5th respectively.

The Super 1600 cars were accepted further to the requests coming from some National Sporting Authorities, but were not eligible to score points for the FIA Cups. A special Yokohama Trophy was created to award a prize money of euro 10,000.